New Mobility Weekly New Mobility Live

American​ ​Center​ ​for​ ​Mobility​ ​leads​ ​collaborative​ ​effort​ ​on​ ​education,​ ​workforce​ ​development​ ​with​ ​15 Michigan​ ​colleges​ ​and​ ​universities

The American Center for Mobility (ACM), in partnership with 15 colleges and universities across Michigan, has announced the creation of the Academic Consortium at ACM to train the next generation of high-tech talent at the state-of-the-art connected and automated vehicle technologies (CAV) facility in Southeast Michigan.

“We are proud to partner with Michigan’s world-class academic institutions to ensure we have the top talent needed to lead this automotive and technological innovation,” said John Maddox, president & CEO of ACM. “This first-of-its kind collaboration will solidify Michigan’s place as a global hub for CAV technologies and future mobility, as well as ACM as an incubator to address the specific needs of industry to drive the future of transportation.”

In an agreement signed on Monday, ACM and the Academic Consortium will partner to create educational pathways to train and prepare students to support automated vehicle testing and implementation. The members will work together to identify workforce courses and training programs as well as recruitment opportunities, internships, co-op and work study programs for Academic Consortium students.

Gov. Rick Snyder joined ACM and academic leaders to celebrate the formation of the Academic Consortium as a major milestone in the state’s efforts to attract, retain and develop the workforce that will design and build the connected and automated vehicles of tomorrow.

“As the automotive industry continues to evolve, it’s critical for Michigan’s economy and our future that we have the best workforce possible to continue leading this reinvention,” Snyder said. “The Academic Consortium at the American Center for Mobility represents the exact convergence of talent and education necessary to keep Michigan at the forefront of the automated vehicle movement.”

Members of the Academic Consortium include: Eastern Michigan University, Grand Valley State University, Kettering University, Lawrence Technological University, Macomb Community College, Michigan State University, Michigan Technological University, Oakland University, University of Detroit Mercy, University of Michigan, University of Michigan Dearborn, Washtenaw Community College, Wayne County Community College, Wayne State University, and Western Michigan University

© 2017-2018 New Mobility. All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy